Committee for Educational Sciences

The Swedish Research Council's Committee for Educational Sciences supports research and post-doctoral education of the highest scientific quality of relevance to educational sciences. The Committee consists of eleven active researchers representing different scientific disciplines of relevance to research in the educational sciences.

Responsible for allocating research funding

The Committee for Educational Sciences decides which calls are to be made within educational sciences. They also decide on which applications will be awarded grants. They have review panels to help them examine and prioritise the applications submitted to the Swedish Research Council, before the Committee takes a decision. It is the Committee that appoints members to the review panels.

Following up and evaluating research in the area

The Committee follows up, evaluates, and produces strategies for the research area, for example through research overviews. In this work, the Committee is assisted by both national and international experts. The Committee also works on increasing the internationalisation of the research area and contributes to the funding of Nordic collaboration programmes within the framework of NordForsk.

Each year, the Committee organises the Results Dialogue Conference, which gives researchers the opportunity to present and discuss research findings within the area of educational sciences.

Composition of the Committee

The Committee has eleven members representing different scientific disciplines of relevance to research in the educational sciences. The Swedish Research Council appoints the chair and members. Seven of them are appointed based on proposals from higher education institutions, and three are appointed based on proposals from the research funding bodies Formas (Swedish Research Council for Environment, Agricultural Sciences and Spatial Planning), Forte (the Swedish Research Council for Health, Working Life and Welfare), and Vinnova. The term of office is three years and members can be reelected for a further three years.

The Committee meets six times a year.

Members 2019–2021




Petter Aasen (chair July 2016-June 2019)

Professor of Educational Sciences and Vice-Chancellor

University of Southeast Norway, Norway

Camilla Bardel

Professor of modern languages and language education

Stockholm University

Cecilia Bjursell

Associate professor in business

Jönköping University

Sven Bölte

Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Science

Karolinska institutet

Mikael Börjesson


Department of Education, Uppsala University

Johan Lithner


Department of Science and Mathematics Education, Umeå University

Christian Lundahl

Professor of Education

Örebro University

Annica Löfdahl Hultman

Professor of Pedagogical Work

Karlstad University

Monica Rosén


Department of Science and Mathematics Education, University of Gothenburg

Robert Thornberg

Professor of Education

Linköping University

Christina Segerholm

Professor of Education

Umeå University


PublISHED ON 25 May 2018

UpDATED ON 09 April 2019



Contact scientific councils, councils and committees


  1. The Research Council´s web site gets new structure

    We launched a new web site in 2018. After evaluating it, the navigation and structure is being adjusted. In connection to the adjustments of the web site, disturbances might accur between 9.00-11.00 on Thursday 21 November.