Council for Research Infrastructures

The Swedish Research Council’s Council for Research infrastructure, RFI, funds research infrastructure that gives researchers access to advanced tools such as databases, research facilities, biobanks, and large scale computational tools. The Council has thirteen members with competence within research infrastructures from several different fields.

Assessing, prioritising and making decisions about grants

RFI assesses and prioritises the needs for research infrastructure in Sweden and is responsible for calls concerning grants for research infrastructure. RFI also makes decisions on which applications will be awarded grants.

RFI has three advisory groups and an e-Infrastructure committee to support the planning and prioritisation of research infrastructure.

Monitoring and evaluating research in the field

RFI monitors, evaluates and creates strategies for the field. One example is the “Swedish Research Council's Guide to Infrastructure", which points to new needs for research infrastructure and suggests measures to improve existing research infrastructure and access to it. RFI is also working to increase national and international collaboration and coordination around research infrastructures.

Composition of the council

RFI has thirteen members, nine of which are active researchers from different disciplines. The Swedish Research Council appoints the chair and members based on proposals from the Swedish Research Council's three scientific councils, and from the Forte, Formas and Vinnova research councils, who nominate one member each. The term of office is three years and members can be reelected for a further three years.

The council meets five times a year.

Members 2017–2019




Jan-Eric Sundgren

PhD in Materials Physics, Senior Advisor to the CEO

AB Volvo

Peter Allebeck

Professor of Social Medicine




Secretary General

Department of Public Health Sciences,
Karolinska Institutet, KI


Forte, Swedish Research Council for Health, Working Life, and Welfare

Håkan Billig

Professor of Physiology

Department of Neuroscience and Physiology, University of Gothenburg

Peter Eriksson

Chief Strategist


Stefan Gelfgren

Associate Professor of Sociology and Supervisor

Humlab, Umeå University

Emma Gretzer

Head of the Unit for Environmental and Spatial Planning

Formas, Swedish Research Council for Environment, Agricultural Sciences and Spatial Planning

Hjalmar Laudon

Professor of Forest Landscape Biogeochemistry

Department of Forest Ecology and Management, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, SLU

Richard Brenner

Professor of Elementary Particle Physics

Uppsala University

Ingela Nyström

Professor of Medical Visualisation

Department of Information Technology, Visual Information and Interaction, Uppsala University

Nancy Pedersen

Professor of Genetic Epidemiology

Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Karolinska Institutet, KI

Johanna Rosén

Professor of Physics

Department of Physics, Chemistry and Biology, Linköping University

Maria Stanfors


Department of Economic History, Lund University

Göran Stemme

Professor of Electrical Measurement Technology, Nanotechnology

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, KTH Royal Institute of Technology


PublISHED ON 30 May 2018

UpDATED ON 09 April 2019


Contact Council for Research Infrastructures


No matching pages