New members for two scientific committees at the Swedish Research Council

The Swedish Research Council’s Board has appointed members to the Committee for Educational Sciences and the Committee for Artistic Researchfor the period 2019–2021. The mandate period is three years, and members may be reappointed for a further three-year period

Committee for Educational Sciences

Members (reappointed)

  • Johan Lithner, Professor of Mathematical Didactics, Umeå University
  • Annica Löfdahl Hultman, Professor of Pedagogic Work, Karlstad University
  • Christina Segerholm, Professor of Pedagogics, Umeå University

Members (new appointments)

  • Camilla Bardel, Professor of Modern Languages with Didactic Focus, Stockholm University
  • Cecilia Bjursell, Docent in Business Studies and acting MD of Encell, Jönköping University
  • Mikael Börjesson, Professor of Educational Sociology, Uppsala University
  • Monica Rosén, Professor of Pedagogics, University of Gothenburg
  • Robert Thornberg, Professor of Pedagogics, Linköping University
  • Christian Lundahl, Professor of Pedagogics, Örebro University
  • Sven Bölte, Professor of Child and Youth Psychiatric Science, Karolinska Institutet

Petter Aasen's appointment as chair of the Committee for Educational Sciences lasts up to and including 30 June 2019.

Committee for Artistic Research

Chair (former member)

  • Markus Degerman, artist, Professor of Contemporary Art at Tromsø Academy of Contemporary Art and Creative Writing, Norway

Members (reappointed)

  • Annette Arlander, PhD, Professor in Performance, Art and Theory at Stockholm University of the Arts
  • Hanna Hallgren, PhD, poet, Docent in Gender Sciences, University of Gothenburg, researcher at Linnaeus University

Members (new appointments)

  • Johan Redström, PhD, designer, Professor of Umeå Institute of Design, Umeå University
  • Meike Schalk, PhD, architect, Associate Professor of Urban Studies and Urban Theory, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Cecilia Sjöholm, PhD in Literature and PhD in Philosophy, Professor of Aesthetics, Södertörn University
  • Carl Unander Scharin, PhD, composer, opera singer, Professor, Karlstad University




  1. Information meeting about grants within Artistic Research

    Welcome to an information meeting about 2023 year´s calls within Artistic Research. The meeting will be held primarily in English.

  2. Research review 2023: Artistic research

    The Swedish Research Council’s research review in artistic research describes the current situation for the research and makes a forecast of the development during the next 5–10 years. The review also includes scientific and research policy recommend...

  3. Educational sciences

    The Swedish Research Council has decided on the applications to be awarded grants within Educational sciences 2022. Our total grant amount for 2022-2028 is nearly 190 million SEK.