New members of the Swedish Research Council’s board and scientific councils 2022–2024

The elector council has now appointed new members of the Swedish Research Council’s board and scientific councils for the period 2022–2024. The mandate period is three years, and members may be reappointed for a further three-year period.

Members of the Swedish Research Council’s board

  • Niklas Arnberg, Umeå University (new member)
  • Marika Edoff, Uppsala University (re-elected)
  • Susanna Fellman, University of Gothenburg (new member)
  • Birgitta Henriques Normark, Karolinska Institutet (new member)
  • Per Persson, Lund University (re-elected)
  • Folke Tersman, Uppsala University (new member)

The new chair of the board will be Irene Wennemo, PhD in sociology, director general of the Swedish National Mediation Office and Chair of the Council for Research Infrastructures at the Swedish Research. The Government appoints the chair of the board and also one further member. For this period, it will be Mathias Uhlén, professor of Microbiology and head of department at KTH Royal Institute of Technology.

Members of the Scientific Council for Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Cecilia Alvstad, Høgskolen i Østfold University College and Stockholm University (new member)
  • Gerhard Andersson, Linköping University (new member)
  • Lars Berglund, Uppsala University (new member)
  • Lena Halldenius, Lund University (new member)
  • Bengt Jacobsson, Södertörn University (new member)
  • Åsa Lundqvist, Lund University (new member)
  • Malin Rönnblom, Karlstad University (re-elected)
  • Karin Sennefelt, Stockholm University (new member)
  • Helène Whittaker, University of Gothenburg (re-electedd)

Members of the Scientific Council for Medicine and Health

  • Elias Arnér, Karolinska Institutet (re-elected)
  • David Engblom, Linköping University (new member)
  • Ann Hellström, University of Gothenburg (re-elected)
  • Charlotte Häger, Umeå University (new member)
  • Anna Karlsson, Karolinska Institutet (new member)
  • Diana Karpman, Lund University (new member)
  • Mikael Sigvardsson, Lund University and Linköping University (new member)
  • Inger Sundström Poromaa, Uppsala University (new member)
  • Staffan Svärd, Uppsala University (new member)

The Government also appoints two members of the Scientific Council for Medicine and Health. For this period Elisabeth Björk, AstraZeneca and Johannes Blom, Södersjukhuset. (Note: These names were added here after we received information from the Government on 16 December.)

Members of the Scientific Council for Natural and Engineering Sciences

  • Ove Axner, Umeå University (new member)
  • Lennart Bergström, Stockholm University (re-elected)
  • Mats Fahlman, Linköping University (new memberd)
  • Fredrik Gustafsson, Linköping University (new member)
  • Fredrik Ronquist, The Swedish Museum of Natural History (new member)
  • Suparna Sanyal, Uppsala University (new member)
  • Emma Sparr, Lund University (re-elected)
  • Anna-Karin Tornberg, KTH Royal Institute of Technology (re-elected)
  • Barbara Wohlfarth, Stockholm University (new member)




  1. – for news and communication about research publishes news about research from Swedish universities, research institutes, and research organisations. The Swedish Research Council coordinates the development of, and the editorial team is based at our offices.

  2. New research collaboration with USA on 6G, quantum technology, AI and other areas

    The Swedish Research Council and Vinnova have signed a five year declaration of intent with the US National Science Foundation (NSF), which will facilitate research and innovation collaborations between Sweden and USA.

  3. Agreements completed with four publishers of open access journals

    Last autumn, the Swedish Research Council, Formas, Forte, and Vinnova made a focus decision to fund publishing using publishers that only produce journals with full open access. Agreements have now been entered into with four publishers.