New members of the Committee for Development Research

The Swedish Research Council’s Board has appointed new members to the Swedish Research Council’s Committee for Development Research for the period 2022–2024.

The Committee for Development Research has nine members who represent research areas relevant to low income and lower middle income countries.

The Swedish Research Council appoints the chair and members, three of whom are appointed based on proposals from the research funding bodies Formas, the Swedish Research Council for Health, Working Life and Welfare, and Sida, the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency, and six based on proposals from the Swedish Research Council's three scientific councils.


Ingrid Öborn, Professor, Dept. Crop Production Ecology, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (reappointed)

New members

  • Raine Isaksson, Senior lecturer, Department of Civil and Industrial Engineering, Uppsala University
  • Ninna Nyberg Sørensen, Professor, Danish Institute for International Studies (DIIS), Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Maja Schlueter, Professor, Stockholm Resilience Centre, Stockholm University
  • Stefan Swartling Peterson, Professor, Department of Global Public Health, Karolinska Institutet

Reappointed members

  • Anna-Karin Hurtig, Professor, Department of Epidemiology and Global Health, Umeå University
  • Kerstin Jonsson Cissé, Head of the Research Cooperation Unit, Sida
  • Tomas Sundnes Drønen, Professor, Global Studies and Religion, School of Mission and Theology, Stavanger, Norway
  • Anders Tegnell, Senior expert, Public Health Agency of Sweden

Read more about the Committee for Development Research and their work at the Swedish Research Council




  1. DevRes 2024 – Reaching the Sustainable Development Goals in a polarized world

    This year’s Development Research Conference (DevRes) will be held at Lund University on 21-23 October. The conference gathers researchers working in fields linked to development and sustainability, and this year’s theme is “Reaching the Sustainable D...

  2. Swedish research can be enhanced without expensive reorganisation

    The Swedish Research Council rejects the proposal for three new public agencies in our response to the consultation document proposing a new public agency structure for funding research and innovation. We consider that the proposal has too narrow a s...

  3. The Committee for Development Research is being disbanded

    In light of the Government's decision in June 2023 that the Swedish Research Council will no longer receive targeted funding for new calls within development research, the Swedish Research Council’s Board has decided to disband the Committee.

To top