PublISHED ON 26 June 2018

UpDATED ON 23 November 2018

Swedish Research Council signs MoU with Brazilian research funding bodies

On 18 May, the Swedish Research Council together with Formas (Swedish Research Council for Environment, Agricultural Sciences and Spatial Planning) and Vinnova – Sweden’s Innovation Agency signed a bilateral Memorandum of Understanding with the Brazilian organisations CNPq, FINEP and CONFAP.

Vinnova already has a continuous innovation collaboration with FINEP among others, but this is the first formal Swedish-Brazilian government agency collaboration within research.

A bilateral planning team consisting of the signing parties have been tasked to develop joint themes and to choose suitable funding instruments for the collaboration.

The goal and the hope is that the MoU will lead to increased academic collaboration and exchange between Sweden and Brazil.

Explanation of abbreviations

CNPq=The Brazilian National Council for Scientific and Technological Development FINEP=The Brazilian Funding Agency for Studies and Projects)
CONFAP=The Brazilian National Council of State Funding Agencies

PUBLISHED ON 26 June 2018

UpDATED ON 23 November 2018


  1. Network meeting between the Swedish Research Council and South Korea

    This year, Sweden and South Korea are celebrating 60 years of diplomatic relations. In conjunction with the visit to Sweden of South Korea’s president, the Swedish Research Council and the National Research Foundation of Korea are arranging a network...

  2. The EU Commission is seeking experts for mission boards

    The EU’s next framework programme for research and innovation, Horizon Europe, will include a new initiative known as “missions”. The EU Commission is now looking for high-level independent experts to provide advice and support to the Commission in i...

  3. 1,6 million SEK to Swedish-Japanese research projects within STINT

    The Swedish Research Council is contributing a total of 1.6 million SEK to three projects within STINT’s Joint Japan-Sweden Research Collaboration for the period 2019–2022.