Swedish Research Council’s Board

The Swedish Research Council’s Board has ultimate responsibility to the Government for our activities. The Board consists of nine members. Six are appointed by researchers at higher education institutions, and three are appointed by the Government.

Board 2019–2021



Agneta Bladh (chair)

Marika Edoff

Uppsala University

Maria Fällman

Umeå University

Britta Lundgren

Umeå University

Lars Magnusson

Uppsala University

Jan Nilsson

Lund University

Per Persson

Lund University

Sven Stafström

Director General, Swedish Research Council

Mathias Uhlén

KTH Royal Institute of Technology

PublISHED ON 25 May 2018

UpDATED ON 20 November 2019

Pdf / Printout


Swedish Research Council



  1. New initiatives in the Government’s research bill that relate to the Swedish Research Council

    The Government’s research bill for 2021–2024 proposes major investments in research. For the Swedish Research Council, this involves increased funding for research infrastructure and undirected research, as well as initiatives within a number of spec...

  2. Funding without focus requirement led to ground-breaking research

    By offering funding for up to nine years, MIMS could recruit promising researchers from across the world – Emmanuelle Charpentier’s discovery shows that the strategy was successful.

  3. “Reverse the death sentence against Ahmadreza Djalali"

    I want to express my and the Swedish Research Council’s strong wish for the death sentence against Ahmadreza Djalali to be reversed, and for him to be reunited with his family in Sweden as soon as possible, says Sven Stafström, Director General of th...