Scientific Council for Humanities and Social Sciences

The Swedish Research Council's Scientific Council for Humanities and Social Sciences supports research of the highest scientific quality in the humanities and social sciences. The Scientific Council has nine members who have been elected by researchers at Swedish higher education institutions.

Responsible for allocating research funding

The Scientific Council for the Humanities and Social Sciences decides on which calls will be made within the humanities and social sciences. They also decide on which applications will be awarded grants. They have ten review panels to help them examine and prioritise the applications that are submitted to the Swedish Research Council, before the Scientific Council makes a decision. It is the Scientific Council that appoints the members of the review panels.

Following up and evaluating research in the area

The Scientific Council follows up, evaluates and develops strategies, for example through research overviews. In this work, the Scientific Council is assisted by both national and international experts. In addition to this, the Scientific Council also runs various research programmes and initiatives in its field.

The Scientific Council represents the Swedish Research Council and finances Swedish participation in several international collaborations, such as the Hera and Norface European research networks and the Joint Committee for Nordic Research Councils in the Humanities and Social Sciences (NOS-HS)

Composition of the Scientific Council

The Scientific Council for Humanities and Social Sciences consists of nine active researchers with a high level of scientific expertise. The members are elected by researchers at Swedish higher education institutions. The term of office is three years and members can be reelected for a further three years.

The Scientific Council meets six times a year.

Members 2019–2021



Thomas Kaiserfeld (chair)

Lund University

Per-Anders Edin

Uppsala University

Per-Olof Erixon

Umeå University

Gustaf Gredebäck

Uppsala University

Malin Rönnblom

Karlstad University/Umeå University

Charlotta Seiler Brylla

Stockholm University

Folke Tersman

Uppsala University

Helène Whittaker

University of Gothenburg

Viveca Östberg

Stockholm University

PublISHED ON 25 May 2018

UpDATED ON 12 October 2020

Pdf / Printout


Contact scientific councils, councils and committees


  1. Quality and impact of research in political science in Sweden

    A pilot evaluation The Swedish Research Council has carried out an evaluation of political science as a research subject, using a new model for national evaluations of research subjects and thematic research fields. The purpose of the new model is t...

  2. Information on processing of personal data

    According to the General Data Protection Regulation (EU 2016/679), the personal data controller shall provide information associated with its processing of personal data.

  3. Lisbeth Olsson new Secretary General for Research Infrastructure

    She is a professor of industrial biotechnology, and is very interested in finding solutions to society’s great challenges. In her new role, she wants to work towards increasing multidisciplinary opportunities in research infrastructure, and to broade...