PublISHED ON 28 May 2018

UpDATED ON 25 June 2019

The Expert Group for Laboratory Animal Science

The Expert Group for Laboratory Animal Science investigates issues about laboratory animals and advises us at the Swedish Research Council. The Expert Group has twelve members with expertise within research using experiments on animals and ethics.

Contributes with knowledge and advice

The Expert Group for Laboratory Animal Science provides knowledge and advice on issues regarding laboratory animals within the Swedish Research Council's various assignments. The group

  • produces various documentation and gives advice to us, for example with regard to
  • call texts for grants, for example for the development of methods for the replacement, reduction and refinement of animal experiments, 3R
  • statements, standpoints or guidelines concerning laboratory animals
  • publications within the area of laboratory animals
  • communication efforts within the area of laboratory animals

The Expert Group also monitors, analyses and informs about laboratory animals in a national and international perspective and can represent the Swedish Research Council in various contexts where issues relating to laboratory animals are discussed.

Composition of the Expert Group

The Expert Group for Laboratory Animal Science has eleven members appointed by the Swedish Research Council's Scientific Council for Medicine and Health. The members must together have expertise in research using laboratory animals and in ethics. Six of the members are appointed on the basis of proposals from Swedish higher education institutions (HEIs) that conduct research in medicine, three based on proposals of from Swedish HEIs that conduct research in science, and one based on a proposal from the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, SLU.





Michael Axelsson


Professor, Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences

University of Gothenburg

Antontio Barragan

Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences

The Wenner-Gren Institute, Stockholm University

Leif Carlsson

Professor, Umeå Centre for Molecular Medicine

Umeå University

Peter Carlsson

Professor, Department of Chemistry and Molecular Biology

University of Gothenburg

David Engblom

Associate Professor, Department of Clinical and Experimental Medicine

Linköping University

Mia Ericson

Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience and Physiology

University of Gothenburg

Robert Fredriksson

Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Biosciences

Uppsala University

Stefan Leander

Associate Professor
Director, Preclinical Support

Lund University

Medicon Village

Jan-Åke Nilsson

Professor, Department of Biology

Lund University

John Pringle

Professor, Department of Clinical Sciences

Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, SLU

Lena Uller

Associate Professor, Department of Experimental Medical Science

Lund University

Johannes Wilbertz

Senior Lecturer, Comparative Medicine

Karolinska Institutet, KI

Contact person at the Swedish Research Council

Nina Gennebäck – Senior Research Officer, Secretary to the Expert Group for Laboratory Animal Science

Swedish Research Council


Swedish Research Council


  1. Members of the Swedish Research Council’s board and scientific councils 2019–2021

    The elector council has now appointed new members of the Swedish Research Council’s board and scientific councils for the period 2019–2021. The mandate period is three years, and members may be reappointed for a further three-year period

  2. Dates set for calls in 2019

    It has now been decided when our calls will open and close in 2019. Each year, the Swedish Research Council distributes just over 6 billion SEK to research of the highest scientific quality within all scientific fields.