The Scientific Council for Medicine and Health

The Swedish Research Council's Scientific Council for Medicine and Health supports research of the highest scientific quality in medicine, dentistry, pharmacy and healthcare science. The Scientific Council has eleven members, nine of which have been elected by researchers at Swedish higher education institutions (HEIs).

Responsible for allocating research funding

The Scientific Council for Medicine and Health decides which calls will be made within medicine, odontology, pharmacology and healthcare science. They also decide on which applications will be awarded grants. To help them, they have 20 review panels with some 160 members, who examine and prioritise the applications that are submitted to the Swedish Research Council, before the Scientific Council takes a decision. It is the Scientific Council that appoints members to the review panels.

Following up and evaluating research in the area

The Scientific Council follows up, evaluates and develops strategies for the area, for example through research overviews. The Scientific Council finances Swedish participation in several international collaborations and conducts a regular dialogue with the HEIs through a reference group with representatives (deans and pro-deans) from the country's pharmaceutical and medical faculties.

Composition of the Scientific Council

The Scientific Council for Medicine and Health has eleven members. Nine of the members are active researchers and are elected by researchers at Swedish HEIs‌. The Government appoints the other two members, one from the healthcare sector and one from the pharmaceutical industry or the biotechnology industry. The term of office is three years and members can be reelected for a further three years.

The Scientific Council meets six times a year.

Members 2022–2024



Elias Arnér

Professor in biochemistry

Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics,

Karolinska Institutet, KI

Elisabeth Björk

Senior Vice President


Johannes Blom verksamhetsområdeschef

Business area manager


David Engblom

Professor in neurobiology

Department of Biomedical and Clinical Sciences, Linköpings University

Ann Hellström

Professor/Chief Physician

Department of Clinical Neuroscience, University of Gothenburg

Charlotte Häger


Community medicine and rehabilitation, Umeå University

Anna Karlsson

Professor in clinical virology

Department of Laboratory Medicine, Karolinska Institutet, KI

Diana Karpman


Clinical Sciences Lund, Lund University

Mikael Sigvardsson

Professor in molecular hemathology

Dept of Laboratory Medicine, Lund University and Linköping University

Inger Sundström Poromaa

Professor in reproductive health

Women's and Children's Health, Uppsala University

Staffan Svärd

Professor in Microbiology

Dept. of cell and Molecular biology, Uppsala University



Pdf / Printout


Contact scientific councils, councils and committees


  1. Jonas Oldgren appointed Secretary General for Clinical Research

    The Swedish Research Council is appointing a Secretary General for Clinical Research. The position is entirely new, and will be held by Jonas Oldgren, who is a professor in coagulation research, and a consultant cardiologist. He will take up his appo...

  2. The new Chair of the Swedish Research Council’s Board now installed

    Greater weight given to undirected research in research policy, and brave decisions relating to investments in research infrastructure. These are issues that Irene Wennemo, the new Chair of the Swedish Research Council’s Board, highlights as importan...

  3. Pernilla Nilsson is the new Secretary General for Educational Sciences

    The Swedish Research Council’s new Secretary General for Educational Sciences is Pernilla Nilsson, who is Professor of Science Education and Pro Vice-Chancellor at Halmstad University. She has a great interest in teaching, learning and quality issues...