Council for Research Infrastructures

The Swedish Research Council’s Council for Research infrastructure, RFI, funds research infrastructure that gives researchers access to advanced tools such as databases, research facilities, biobanks, and large scale computational tools. The Council has thirteen members with competence within research infrastructures from several different fields.

Assessing, prioritising and making decisions about grants

RFI assesses and prioritises the needs for research infrastructure in Sweden and is responsible for calls concerning grants for research infrastructure. RFI also makes decisions on which applications will be awarded grants.

RFI has three advisory groups and an e-Infrastructure committee to support the planning and prioritisation of research infrastructure.

Monitoring and evaluating research in the field

RFI monitors, evaluates and creates strategies for the field. One example is the “Swedish Research Council's Guide to Infrastructure", which points to new needs for research infrastructure and suggests measures to improve existing research infrastructure and access to it. RFI is also working to increase national and international collaboration and coordination around research infrastructures.

Composition of the council

RFI has thirteen members, nine of which are active researchers from different disciplines. The Swedish Research Council appoints the chair and members based on proposals from the Swedish Research Council's three scientific councils, and from the Forte, Formas and Vinnova research councils, who nominate one member each. The term of office is three years and members can be reelected for a further three years.

The council meets five times a year.

Members 2020–2022




Björn O. Nilsson


PhD in biochemistry and CEO Ursus Innovation AB

Ursus Innovation AB

Dan Henningson


Department of Mechanics, Royal Institute of Technology, KTH

Olle Lundberg

Secretary General; Professor

Forte, Swedish Research Council for Health, Working Life, and Welfare; Department of Public Health Sciences, Stockholm University

Peter Eriksson

Chief Strategist


Stefan Gelfgren

Associate Professor of Sociology

Umeå University

Emma Gretzer

PhH, head of the Unit for Environmental and Spatial Planning and Deputy Director General

Formas, Swedish Research Council for Environment, Agricultural Sciences and Spatial Planning

Marika Nestor

Associate Professor

Department of Immunology, Genetics and Pathology, Uppsala University

Richard Brenner

Professor of Elementary Particle Physics

Uppsala University

Johan Malmström


Department of Clinical Sciences, Lund University

Roland Roberts


Department of Earth Sciences, Uppsala University

Johanna Rosén

Professor of Physics

Department of Physics, Chemistry and Biology, Linköping University

Maria Stanfors


Department of Economic History, Lund University

Göran Stemme

Professor of Electrical Measurement Technology, Nanotechnology

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, KTH Royal Institute of Technology



Pdf / Printout

REad more


Contact Council for Research Infrastructures


  1. Apply to RÅC 2022 summer school

    The summer school will take place on 14–21 August 2022 at Varbergs Kusthotell, and is aimed at postdocs, doctoral students and masters students at Swedish universities or research institutes. This year’s theme is “X-rays and Neutrons for a Sustainabl...

  2. SwedNMR

    SwedNMR provides increased access to NMR instrumentation and expertise within biomolecular NMR, materials NMR and translational NMR.

  3. PPS - Protein Production Sweden

    PPS is a distributed infrastructure that coordinates expertise, protein production systems, marking methods, protein refinement techniques and a range of services within recombinant protein production.